

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

02 AUGUST 2018

PRESS RELEASE

PARLIAMENT APPROVES FORTY-ONE PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEES FOR AMBASSADORIAL AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Thursday 02nd August 2018 debated and approved the Eleventh Report of its Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, chaired by the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis.

Congratulating the nominees after approval, the Rt. Hon. Speaker of Parliament, Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu said that he had no doubt that they would do well in their new assignments. Referring to concerns raised by MPs on the manner of withdrawal of former ambassadors and other officials, he stated that "it is a duty and that it behooves the country to bring them home in a dignified manner", adding that this matter is with him and promised that it would be handled in the best interest of the State.

The said Report includes forty-one presidential nominees for Ambassadorial and other appointments.

The following presidential nominees have been approved by Parliament:

I. Mr. Umaru Dumbuya-Chairman, Sierra Leone Maritime Administration

II. Dr. Francis Mustapha Kaikai-Permanent Representative, Sierra Leone Permanent Mission to the United Nations, New York

III. Mr. Ernest M'baimba Ndomahina-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy Beijing, China

IV. Mr. Saffa-Woya Rogers-Deputy Ambassador to Sierra Leone Embassy to Beijing, China

V. Dr. Brima Patrick Kapuwa-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

VI. Mr. Eddie Sidikie Massally-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Monrovia, Liberia

VII. Mr. Alimamy Hassan Bangura-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Conakry, Guinea

VIII. Mr. Hamid Taal-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Conakry, Guinea

IX. Dr. M'baimba Lamin Baryoh-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Berlin, Germany

X. Mr. Tamba John Sylvanus Lamina-Sierra Leone High Commissioner, United Kingdom, London

XI. Ambassador Alie Badara Kamara-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Tehran, Iran

XII. Mr. Tamba Samuel Musa-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Brussels, Kingdom of Belgium

XIII. Mrs. Francess Virginia Anderson-High Commissioner, Sierra Leone High Commission, Accra, Ghana

XIV. Mr. Kathos Jibao Matta-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Seoul, South Korea

XV. Alhaji Brima Elvis Koroma-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Dakar, Senegal

XVI. Madam Lucretia Marian Shereef-High Commissioner, Sierra Leone High Commission, Banjul, The Gambia

XVII. Dr. Sao-Kpato Hannah Isatta Max-Kyne-Deputy Commissioner, National Commission for Social Action

XVIII. Alhaji Banie Ellah Seisay-Member, Public Service Commission

XIX. Mr. Peter Joseph Francis-High Commissioner, Sierra Leone High Commission, Nairobi, Kenya

XX. Mr. Solomon Momoh Christopher Gembeh-High Commissioner, Sierra Leone High Commission, Abuja, Nigeria

XXI. Mr. Charlie Haffner-Chairman, Monument and Relics Commission

XXII. Mr. Morie Fofana-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Cairo, Egypt

XXIII. Haja Ishata Thomas-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Kuwait City, Kuwait

XXIV. Mr. Joseph Mustapha Hazeley-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Monrovia, Liberia

XXV. Harold Bundu Saffa-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Brussels, Kingdom of Belgium

XXVI. Mr. Samuel Housman Buggie Saffa-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Geneva, Switzerland

XXVII. Mr. Mohamed Hassan Koroma-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

XXVIII. Ms. Victoria Mangay Sulimani-Deputy Permanent Representative, Sierra Leone Permanent Mission to the UN, New York

XXIX. Dr. Lansana Gberie-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Geneva, Switzerland

XXX. Dr. Ibrahim Jalloh-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

XXXI. Mr. Mohamed Yongowa-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Moscow, Russia

XXXII. Mr. Rashid Sesay-Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

XXXIII. Ms. Agnes Kumba Dugba-Macauley-Deputy High Commissioner, Sierra Leone High Commission, United Kingdom, London

XXXIV. Mr. Johanathan Arthur Derrick Leigh-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Berlin, Germany

XXXV. Dr. Michael Imran Kanu-Deputy Permanent Representative, Legal Affairs, Sierra Leone Permanent Mission to the UN

XXXVI. Mr. Atumani Dainkeh-Deputy Ambassador, Sierra Leone Embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

XXXVII. Mr. Sheku Mahmoud Kanneh-Chief Executive Officer, Road Maintenance Fund Administration

XXXVIII. Ing. Mohamed Allieu Jalloh-Chairman, Sierra Leone Water Company

XXXIX. Mr. Mohamed Onanah Jalloh-Executive Director, National Youth Service

XL. Mr. M.R Koroma, Member, Public Service Commission and

XLI. Mr. Mohamed Sharka Kargbo-Chairman, Board of Directors, SIERRATEL

The Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Chernor R.M Bah commended the nominees, saying that he would not be able to do individual commendation, but promised to do so later outside Parliament, whilst wishing success in their pursuits.

The Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis thanked MPs who contributed to the debate and called on the nominees to work assiduously for the success of the "New Direction". On the issue bordering on the recall of our foreign officials, he informed the House that the matter is under active consideration and that "he is currently discussing with Hon. Ibrahim Sorie, former ambassador to Brussels", for a peaceful settlement.

Other MPs who spoke to the motion urged the nominees to influence direct foreign investments to the country and desist from actions that are politically induced, with a view to treating Sierra Leoneans equally devoid of ethnic or partisan considerations, and others urged the Government to expand our foreign relations by re-establishing the Embassy of Sierra Leone in France.

Department of Public Relations

Parliament of Sierra Leone

OAU Drive, Tower Hill

Freetown

Tel: +23278495023/+23277669726/+23278426851